Ontario has about 57 counties and districts.   Throughout the years this number has changed as governments have changed county boundries or two or more counties decided to ammalgamate for various reasons.   In the mid 1970s the Provincial government decided to create 'Regional Municipalities'.   This approach eliminated the use of the word 'county' from the larger centres, example: the County of Peel became Peel Region.   Throughout this web site I will still separate the information by 'county'.

Addington Grey Middlesex Renfrew
Algoma Haldimand Muskoka Russell
Brant Haliburton Nipissing Simcoe
Bruce Halton Norfolk Stormont
Carleton Hastings Northumberland Sudbury
Cochrane Huron Ontario Suffolk
Dufferin Kenora Oxford Thunder Bay
Dundas Kent Parry Sound Timiskaming
Durham Lambton Peel Victoria
Elgin Lanark Perth Waterloo
Essex Leeds Peterborough Welland
Frontenac Lennox Prescott Wellington
Glengarry Lincoln Prince Edward Wentworth
Grenville Manitoulin Rainy River York

* Peel County includes the old county of Cardwell, established in 1867 and ceased being a county in the late 1800s to early 1900s.


Capital: Toronto